Cottages

Dining

Tours

weddings

Wellness

retreats

St Lucia

Reviews and Media

The retreats here are among my favourites and I have been many times. They provide simply furnished cabins, cottages and apartments, and (on request) great food and excellent yoga instruction – all set in a stunning location full of waterlily ponds, majestic trees and organic planting. There is an authentic Caribbean feel to the rooms and spaces with mosquito nets, verandas and fresh coconuts and mangoes (in season) and the odd blast of music from the local town. At Balenbouche, my days are spent reading on my veranda, going on a short walk to the beach, visiting neighbouring villages or picking fruit for a quick snack. Balenbouche is filled with the remnants of Caribbean history with an old sugar mill hidden amongst elegant palms, lemongrass bushes, frangipani and hundreds of fruit trees. The family running the Estate have lots of friendly pets who quickly adopt you on your walks to nearby beach so it’s a great place to visit with friends, family, loved ones or on your own for some quality me-time. Balenbouche is a very special place, hidden down a quiet side road, somewhere you want to remain a secret.

Carole, Google review, June 2019

Balenbouche was so wonderful! Uta was a wonderful host, helping us arrange to rent a car and set up different activities, as well as offering tips about where to eat and which beaches to visit. We loved having her animals around as well, adding that extra bit of comfort. Waterlily cottage was romantic, funky, comfortable, and tucked away so we really felt like we were completely on our own! And of course Uta and the plantation house were just a quick walk away, so best of both worlds. The location is a little off the beaten path, but this Caribbean nature resort was exactly where we needed it to be – away from all the touristy busyness and also situated right next to our favorite town, Laborie. We definitely recommend heading to Mama Rose and Mama Tilly’s for dinner!

Katie, Airbnb, June 2019

Unique paradise in paradise, not to be missed

We visited the Balenbouche Estate 2x during our 8 day stay on St. Lucia. It was, hands down, one of our favorite stops. Our first visit was during the day to explore the grounds. We were greeted by the happiest herd of friendly pups, two of which became our tour guides. They guided us through fields of fruits (pineapple bushes, mango trees) by the water lilly and lotus ponds and down to the incredible black sand beach. Finally, we spent a bit of time exploring the old factory. We spent about 2 hours at the estate.

Our second visit was for dinner on Friday evening, we called in the early morning to confirm if a meal was being served. Verena and her mother prepared a beautiful dinner that was served family/ buffet style in the house. My husband had the most refreshing rum punch, I don’t drink alcohol due to a health condition and Verena was incredibly accommodating and provided fresh juice! Each group sat on their own table on the gorgeous wrap around porch. The food was wonderful. The main house is beautiful and full of unique pieces (like the amazing sea fan chandelier). Our only regret is not staying here for our entire trip!

This location is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the waterlily apartment but I’m sure all the units are just as unique and gorgeous as ours. Uta and her family were very accommodating and friendly. they had beautiful, friendly dogs that would greet us and give us a little tour around the beautiful property. there is also a lovely little private beach just a short walk from the property. highly recommended.

Sean, Airbnb, March 2019

A Fantastic Adventure

What a paradise! A charming place to stay and totally *un-plug*! No TVs but wifi is available at the main house. My husband and I totally loved our 4 days stay. We had the Frangipani Cottage which is open to the air, no glass in the windows allowing the breeze and circulation and also all of the natural noises to lull us to sleep. Tree frogs, tropical insects and palm tree leaves blowing in the breeze. We could even hear the ocean waves from the cottage!

We had breakfast every morning and 1 dinner during our stay. The food is delicious and Uta and Verena are the perfect hosts. There are 5 dogs and 5 cats that roam the property and soon become your *furry friends*!! Two of the cats came in our cottage and we really enjoyed their company. I also bought a bag of cat food and they loved having breakfast and dinner on our porch! It was such a great experience. We’ve stayed in places all over the world and this is now top on our list. Staying here provided quiet time, nice places to go for walks, and wonderful food options. It is truly a paradise and we feel very lucky to have found it! We will return.

Linda, Tripadvisor, March 2019

Bliss!

I spent 7 days at Balenbouche Estates, every one of them glorious! Delicious meals for breakfast, lunch, dinner, healthy-tasty. Mornings spent in the barn for yoga. Dinner amidst charming lights emitting warm-glow upon the glorious fare. Rum punches swept the palate with a tingle of fresh fruit and St. Lucian rum. My cottage comfortable with swings for me to sit, read or reflect the day. Never have I been to a place with such amazing ecological energy.

Krystina Faroe, Tripadvisor, February 2019

Very special and authentic place to stay, the old plantation house and gardens are beautiful and spacious, you could spend an entire week exploring and not get bored, there are even two private beaches! You will be warmly welcomed by German and English speaking Uta and family, whoever you are and wherever you come from. The atmosphere is bohemian and inclusive rather than ‘smart’, which suited us. Accommodation is simple but comfortable, no tv or aircon, instead nice cool breezes through netted windows,mosquito nets on a large comfortable bed, and a large, elegant terrace to sit out on. Delicious breakfast and occasional dinners offered. Solar powered shower. Situated in a lovely part of the island if you enjoy hiking, nature, beaches etc. Laborie, the nearest village, has a great restaurant on the beach where you can hang out for hours.

Nell, Airbnb, February 2019

A beautiful eco-nature experience – A very special place!!

This review is long overdue! Balenbouche Estate is one of the most beautiful experience I’ve had in St. Lucia and I’ve been going to St. Lucia for many years. I was there in December 2018 for a Yoga Retreat for 4 days. The estate is 60 acre of eco-nature heritage site located on the South-west coast of St. Lucia near two secluded beaches and an old mill on the site. It used to be a former sugar plantation. There are 5 unique cottages and a main house on the property. All decorated beautifully. Some cottages can have 3 bedrooms so it is family friendly. But what makes this place special are hosts Uta and Verena. They are the most lovely people I’ve ever met. They are exceptional hosts and the food…oh the food. While I was there we had mostly vegetarian dishes all organic and delicious. Fresh juices and smoothies. The cuisine is a blend of St Lucian/Creole, Asian and International cuisine. They specialize in fresh, local and organic ingredients, some of which are grown on the estate. Vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, dairy-free, etc. The Caribbean nature resort is quiet and a serene retreat. They have onsite yoga studio (an old barn) that is just very lovely to take early morning classes. Whether you want to detox from your crazy city life or just spend some quality time with friends and family doing nothing but eating well, sleeping, and hiking through the Estate it is worth it. A special place for sure. I felt renewed when I left. A special thank you to Uta and Verena for their hospitality. I’m envious you live in Paradise for sure. I will be back soon.

Projectno, January 2019

Like in Paradise

We spent 5 nights at the Balenbouche Estate Caribbean nature resort. When we arrived we felt cosy und welcome, like home. The Hospitality from Verena and Ute were so kind and warm, just fantastic. The Environment like the Beaches, the Lily Pond and the Sugar Mill just gorgeous. We rested at the beautiful Almond Cottage, there was an outdoor shower a kitchen and a big living room like a Veranda. The interior decoration is unique and with a lot of Passion established. If someone loves the nature and some calming days out of the stressful daily life is Balenbouche Estate perfect!

Un Veritable Ecrin

My boyfriend and I spent 3 days in this so lovely place! We ended up there « by chance » thanks to a previous host who recommended it! Such a good recommandation! Close to the charming town of Laborie, we had a very nice and peaceful stay. We slept in a small cottage so cute giving the impression you are back to another time…The estate is lovely, full of history and close to a beautiful and cosy beach. But this Caribbean nature resort is nothing without its owners, admirable and sweet women working hard to keep it authentic, romantic and welcoming. Que ce lieu chargé d’Histoire continue d’accompagner de belles histoires…

“Balenbouche is indeed a world within itself exuding a tranquil presence of warmth, hospitality and harmony.”  (Tropical Traveler)

[email protected]
+ 1 (758) 455-1244
P.O. Box VF 707, LC12101, St Lucia

Copyright 2019 Balenbouche Estate